The Bank of Ireland announces the following changes in Directors' responsibilities and Court (Board) Committees:

Mr. Dennis Holt has been appointed Senior Independent Director and Deputy Governor.

Mr. Jerome Kennedy has been appointed Chairman of the Group Audit Committee. The other members of the Group Audit Committee are Mr. Tom Considine, Mr. Paul Haran, Ms. Rose Hynes, Ms. Heather Ann McSharry and Mr. Patrick O'Sullivan.

Mr. Declan McCourt has been appointed Chairman of the Group Remuneration Committee. The other members of this Committee are Mr. Pat Molloy, Ms. Rose Hynes, Mr Terry Neill and Mr. Joe Walsh.

The Group Nomination and Governance Committee is Chaired by Mr. Pat Molloy. The other members of this Committee are Mr. Dennis Holt, Ms. Heather Ann McSharry, Mr. Declan McCourt, Mr. Terry Neill and Mr. Joe Walsh.

A new Risk Committee has been established and Mr. Tom Considine has been appointed Chairman. The other members of the Risk Committee are Ms. Rose Hynes, Mr. Jerome Kennedy, Mr. Terry Neill and Mr. Patrick O'Sullivan.

All changes are effective from today 25 August 2009.

Contact:

Helen Nolan
Group Secretary
Tol. + 252 1 60424

Tel: +353 1 6043400