The Governor and Company of the Bank of Ireland and Bank of Ireland Group plc ("Bank of Ireland")

Change in Directorate and Director Responsibilities

01 October 2020

Bank of Ireland announces that Mr Patrick Mulvihill, Chair of the Group Audit Committee, will retire on 31 December 2020, having served on the Board since December 2011 and as Chair of the Group Audit Committee since April 2018.

Ms Evelyn Bourke will succeed Mr Mulvihill as Chair of the Group Audit Committee on 1 January 2021. Ms Bourke has served as an Independent Non-Executive Director of Bank of Ireland since May 2018 and has served as a member of the Group Audit Committee and Nomination, Governance & Responsible Business Committee to date. On appointment, Ms Bourke will step down from the Nomination, Governance & Responsible Business Committee and join the Group Risk Committee. Ms Bourke is the current Chief Executive Officer of BUPA Group and is a member of its Board. She will retire from BUPA on 31 December 2020.

Bank of Ireland Chairman, Mr. Patrick Kennedy, acknowledged Mr. Mulvihill's contribution to the Board since his appointment in 2011, saying that "Bank of Ireland has benefited greatly from Patrick's experience, insight, rigour and exceptional commitment over the past 9 years. He has made a very meaningful contribution to the Group as a Director and as Audit Committee Chair".

This disclosure is made in accordance with Euronext Listing Rule 6.1.64 and UK Listing Rule 9.6.11.

Sarah McLaughlin

Group Secretary

+353 76 624 8577